Day 308-316: Drawing a Day

IMG_3326 IMG_3321 IMG_3320 IMG_3318 IMG_3302 IMG_3300 IMG_3293

So here’s what I’ve been up to in the past week. While watching a movie, while taking nature walks, while slumping on my couch after a long tiring day, while listening to endless podcasts. I haven’t posted anything all week, since I kind of haven’t felt up to facing the world in the same way I usually do. I think it’s the enveloping, descending darkness of these autumn days. I am trying to allow my body and mind to figure out this change in its own time and space, without holding myself up against any guilt for moving inwards. And that seems to include not being on wordpress every day.

But thankfully, this adjustment of seasons does not seem to entail giving up on art making for a few days. In fact, it seems like art is what keeps me going, even spending 5-10 minutes on it everyday, since missing it altogether makes me feel thirsty for it. I need art to complete my day in a way that makes me happy, fulfilled.

During this week, I completed one year of starting my drawing everyday challenge. Even though I’m not up to 365 drawings yet, I am happy about staying with it, and learning a lifetime worth of stuff about techniques, materials, seeing, noticing, keeping up with something everyday (almost), blogging, learning, art, community, myself. I am very thankful to have found this beautiful passion, and am excited to be on this journey. At this point, I am looking forward to finishing the 365 day challenge, and then focus on longer projects, but still hopefully to use my sketchbook most days of the week. And I think watercolours will have more of my focus in the near future as well. I can’t wait to see what’s ahead, and am very happy to have this awesome wordpress art community to share all our journeys with! And of course, family and friends and mentors- it does take a village to raise children of art as well…

10 thoughts on “Day 308-316: Drawing a Day

  1. Pingback: Day 318: Drawing a Day | the river in me

Leave a Reply

