Back to Work

img_4217

Summer is gone. The laziness that comes from sweaty hands and lethargy that renders one’s body useless is long gone. Instead I find myself amidst fiery trees and cool October afternoons. Walking on sidewalks carpeted with blotches of bright yellows and reds, my mind and body tell me its time to welcome Inspiration back, to get to work, to learn and to make.

 

After drawing in all sorts of media for a year on almost a daily basis, I feel ready for another challenge that will keep me disciplined and motivated to come back to work every day. My urge is to play with colours. My desire is to open my eyes to the beauty that surrounds me. My hope is to process life in a way that’s positive and creative.

 

I read an article on Medium about setting oneself a 100-day project that started as the brainchild of creator Elle Luna. Using this article for inspiration, here’s how I plan to get to work in the next few months:

 

WHAT: Watercolour paintings

 

HOW: Everyday for a 100 days

 

GOAL(s):

70+ pieces of artwork (ahem!)

Hope to find the very elusive “style” of my very own that everyone talks about

 

RULES:

Use watercolours everyday irrespective of usage of other media

It is OK to work on one piece for multiple days

Use everyday inspiration. No internet reference photos allowed

5 cheat days allowed

Share all the good, the bad and the ugly work on the blog

As little as 10 minutes a day counts

Be gentle to myself

 

Picking the brush very sporadically in the past 2-3 months, I feel the tingle at the thought of the blank page and clean brush, but I also feel joy at the thought of mixing colours. So I hereby invite Mess (of pages and brushes) and Inspiration into my life, coz, yeah, I won’t be painting much without them!

2 thoughts on “Back to Work

Leave a Reply

